Close Menu

Three from Physics Win 2010 IIT Alumni Awards

Three physics alumni were among the winners of the 2010 IIT alumni awards: Sidney Coleman (PHYS '57), Paul Wattelet (PHYS '62), and Watts Humphrey (M.S. PHYS '50).

The late Sidney Coleman (1937-2007) received a Lifetime Achievement Award. Dubbed "the physicists' physicist" by his colleagues, Coleman was a giant in theoretical physics who influenced Nobel-prize winning research. He was Donner Professor of Science at Harvard University. Beloved by many students, Coleman's compelling teaching style and remarkable theories drew crowds to his lectures. His 1985 book Aspects of Symmetry: Selected Erice Lectures is a classic in the field.

Paul Wattelet, who received a Professional Achievement Award, had a 38-year career in the energy industry, including service as chief executive officer for Sargent & Lundy. Under his leadership, the firm developed new opportunities in nuclear, fossil and alternative energy plants. Wattelet also holds a Ph.D. in nuclear engineering from Purdue University.

Watts Humphrey also received a Professional Achievement Award. Known as the "Father of Software Quality," he developed the industry-changing processes that have helped software developers predictably create efficient, error-free software. In 2003, he received the National Medal of Technology and Innovation from President George W. Bush. Humphrey is the author of numerous articles and 12 books.