Close Menu

Kilpatrick Fellowship Nominations 2014-15

The IIT Chemistry Division invites nominations for the Kilpatrick Fellowship for the academic year 2014-15. The fellowship provides an annual stipend of $18,000 and tuition support for up to 18 credit hours. The Kilpatrick Fellowship is made possible through a generous gift from the Kilpatrick Trust to honor Martin and Mary Kilpatrick, who were outstanding researchers and educators. Martin Kilpatrick served as chair of IIT’s Chemistry Department from 1947–1960. Mary Kilpatrick was a chemistry faculty member from 1947-1964.


Full-time graduate students currently enrolled in a doctoral program in chemistry are eligible for the nomination. To qualify for the Fellowship a student must have passed the written qualifying exam at the Ph.D level, completed at least four core courses with a GPA of 3.5 or higher, and must be nominated by a chemistry faculty member. The fellowship is awarded for one year. The recipient can be re-nominated for a second year. A final report is required at the end of the year, given as a presentation in the Chemistry Colloquium.

Selection Criteria

Academic achievements, research achievements, and research potential.

Application Package

All nominations, containing the following materials, must be sent to Professor Rong Wang ( by May 27, 2014:

  1. A resume
  2. A nomination letter from a chemistry faculty member
  3. A proposed plan of research (less than five pages)

(Download 2014-15 Kilpatrick Fellowship announcement pdf)